Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hello All!
I thought that I would go ahead and introduce myself, since I'm brand new to this BB. 

I go by the name dps, and I'm a proud member of the Free Software Foundation, and an advocate for all that is freedom and for those that can't stand up for themselves.
I haven't been using GNU/Linux for that long, just a few months. I come from a very long line of Windont users, and had considered myself a Power User of sorts within that ecosystem. I started to use GNU/Linux, when I was looking for a solution to get a laptop of mine (Dell inspiron 5559, core i5, 8gb of memory) to run from usb, because the internal sata connector was broken. 

Even though I had considered myself an avid user and possibly even a Power User (I knew the in's and out's of the system, and that is where I learned to OverClock), I found it highly difficult to get my system running from USB, using the Windont operating system. So I found Linux Mint, and upon using it for a while as a secondary OS... I fell in love with it!
    From the way it handled system resources, the simplistic approach to the way the file system is, to the amazing and beautiful story behind GNU/Linux... I found myself hooked. It honestly has become my life, which is weird, because I'm normally a person who demands the latest and greatest hardware, but with GNU/Linux, I've found myself using (on a daily basis) older rigs of mine, like this HP TouchSmart iq506, and my old Pentium 4 and Pentium D rigs! 

I currently run Xubuntu, Ubuntu, Kubuntu, Ubuntu Server, Linux Mint and Lubuntu on the various rigs that I have around my house, but I'm ALWAYS open to different things.