Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Installing programs on Mint
Hello,
I do not understand how to install a program from the terminal.
I understand I have to write "apt-get install and program name" but it's "mechanical" not "organic".
You can help me understand why and how ... and how to install the required packages go with that program.
And how do I install a local server ... I looked at youtube but I do not understand why they do what they do and most of them are for Ubuntu, and I use Mint.
I use the local server for, php, html, css, js
Please explain, because I am new to these programs.
P.S. I installed only Apache2
(06-09-2019, 06:06 PM)Daniel2213 Wrote: Hello,

Hi!

(06-09-2019, 06:06 PM)Daniel2213 Wrote: I understand I have to write "apt-get install and program name" but it's "mechanical" not "organic".

What do you mean with that? What is "mechanical" instead
of "organic" and what does that have to do with installing
software?

The correct way to install software using the terminal is
like this (using gimp as an example of a program to install):

Code:
sudo apt install gimp

(06-09-2019, 06:06 PM)Daniel2213 Wrote: And how do I install a local server ...
[...]
P.S. I installed only Apache2

You apparently already have installed a server.

(06-09-2019, 06:06 PM)Daniel2213 Wrote: I looked at youtube but I do not understand why they do

Youtube videos are not really a good source for technical
how-tos. Try an article: Text is often better for instructions
than video.

I searched on DuckDuckGo for "Linux Mint LAMP stack
installation for webdev" and I immediatly found this.

(06-09-2019, 06:06 PM)Daniel2213 Wrote: what they do and most of them are for Ubuntu, and I use Mint.

A lot of that will work on mint to.

(06-09-2019, 06:06 PM)Daniel2213 Wrote: I use the local server for, php, html, css, js
Please explain, because I am new to these programs.

So I assume you want to learn web development. You
do not need a full LAMP stack for this when you are