Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Server
I have now changed all my machines except one over from Windows to Linux. Well everything but my wife's laptop and there is no way I'm suggesting that to her. My main machine is running Mint and my laptop is running Ubuntu 18.04. I have a Dell Latitude E6400 with four megs of ram that I use as a Plex server currently running Windows and I want to install some kind of Linux server that I can access from my home network (and from outside my network if it is easy to do). I currently am using a Raspberry Pi as a sort of semi server but I don't really like the way it works right now. It has nothing to do with my Plex set up. I won't be sharing Plex much if at all to any outside users except for myself and even then it will be used for streaming music 99.9% of the time so my needs are simple.

I am a total newbie and not all that great with the terminal but I'm trying. With that said...

This is what I want to be able to do:
Make my 4TB Elements drive available to anyone in my home network
Make my 1TB HP external drive available to anyone in my home network
Run my Plex server
Run Kodi
I plan on adding one more additional drive so that I can use it as backup 
Ultimately I am going to ditch cable all together and I need to make a media box that is easy to operate, stable as possible and simple as possible for the people in my family. 

I have watched dozens of videos and read tons of stuff on networking, servers, etc and all I've managed to do is get confused. I thought this may be the best place to get some practical advice on what to do. 

Any advice would be appreciated.

Phillip Waters
I'm sure there are other ways to do it but this is how mine is set up, there is no external usage of my drives or plex but my internal network has access to both.

First I use linuxMint 18.3

I have all drives I want to be shared automount on startup.

Then I install samba like this:

Install samba in mint 18