Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Limitations of Xubuntu?
I am relatively new to linux and am currently running Xubuntu 18.04. It runs well on my older hardware and I am considering putting it on one of my newer systems.  My question is are there any important differences or system limitations (other than the desktop) in Xubuntu when compared to the standard Ubuntu 18.04?
All the 'buntus will have the same Ubuntu base, it's just the desktop that changes. Some like LXQt or Xfce are lighter on RAM usage and run a bit better on older hardware, middle of the road desktops like MATE or KDE have medium use of the RAM(400-600MB) and even the heavy weights like GNOME or Budgie are still at or just a bit under 1GB of ram. Most modern computers have anywhere between 4GB to 8GB with some going with even more ram so you should be find with any desktop as long as you've got at least 4GB of RAM. IF you have less then LXQt(Lubuntu) or Xfce(Xubuntu) would be the best way to go especially if you've got an older 32bit system since both Xubuntu and Lubuntu (as well as Kubuntu and Ubuntu MATE) have 32 bit support. Hope this helps.
After evaluating over sixteen different distribution with various desktop, I finally settle for XFCE.  The XFCE and MATE are very similar mid weight desktop environments.  For that matter it was a tough choice between the XFCE and MATE DEs, and I would be happy using either.  Since Ubuntu studio uses the XFCE DE, I choice XFCE.  Now to put things in context, I am not easily impressed with the current over sensationalized meaningless features in the more modern heavy weight DEs.  I use a computer to get a job done not to be amazed by the DE.  Likewise, I prefer a DE that does not compete with my applications for system resources.  And, I prefer using a laptop on a day to day basis.