Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
What size SSD should I buy?
If this is a total newbie question I'm sorry but ...

I'm about to buy a new computer and will initially be using it to run Ubuntu 18.04. In future I may well, of course, change the operating system to another version of Linux. The operating system will be on an SSD and the home directory will be on a separate HDD.

There is a choice of sizes for the SSD ranging from 120GB to 1TB. If I was buying a Windows machine I'd probably put the operating system on a 256GB or 512GB SSD in order to provide plenty of room for the operating system to grow as I added additional programmes. Is this necessary for a Linux machine? Is there any benefit to buying any SSD larger than 120GB?

I'd appreciate any advice that you can give me.
Hello Dextor

For most single boot system a 120g SSD will be fine for the root directory.
(11-24-2018, 10:24 AM)Dexter Hovis Wrote: There is a choice of sizes for the SSD ranging from 120GB to 1TB. If I was buying a Windows machine I'd probably put the operating system on a 256GB or 512GB SSD in order to provide plenty of room for the operating system to grow as I added additional programmes. Is this necessary for a Linux machine? Is there any benefit to buying any SSD larger than 120GB?
There are benefits of a larger SSD on Linux and in general:
- Larger SSDs are faster than smaller ones.
- Larger SSDs last longer.
- Software packaged as Snaps, Flatpaks and Appimages are very large and can take up a lot of space.
- multi-boot systems will take up a lot of space if you want to do one.

If I was buying a computer for myself I would personally get a 256g SSD for extra speed and lifespan.
(11-24-2018, 10:24 AM)Dexter Hovis Wrote: If this is a total newbie question I'm sorry but ...