Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My computer runs on SUNLIGHT!
I am new to Linux so I thought I would write about my experience after a month. I Built a new computer that runs on a short sip of power just a few watts. It's a tiny Asrock J5040itx motherboard that has a Pentium Silver 5040 CPU and integrated Intel graphics and built in audio. The audio was very important to me and this motherboard has an optical SPDIF audio output that makes my 500 watt 5.1 channel system sound wonderful. The board is designed to run M$ (argh) windoze but I had no problems running Ubuntu or Linux Mint 20.0 and 20.1. It is stable and easy to use and I have to say I love this tiny computer. The whole system runs off of my solar energy system and is powered completely off grid. The voltage ranges from just over 11 volts to 15 volts as the batteries charge during the day and the system is ROCK SOLID. I even call the computer SolarSystem. It uses a special DC to DC power supply that handles a wide voltage input. The system has a 1 TB SSD boot drive and a 2 TB spinning disk for storage. The 17 inch portable monitor runs off of the USB 3.2 port and HDMI for signal. The last computer before this one was a huge water cooled i7 CPU with dual Nvidia graphics (also water cooled) and the whole thing weighed almost 70 pounds. I like this new tiny computer much better than the huge M$ system. I've been running windoze since Win95 and I never liked windows. I love Linux! I couldn't be happier. It all goes to prove that you don't need to have grid power and make lots of heat with M$ software to have truly great computer. If anyone would like some help setting up their own super low power computer I'd be happy to help. The Asrock j5040itx motherboard runs Linux (ubuntu and Mint) just fine and all of the hardware works perfectly. Probably needless to say I borked the Mint 20.0 setup (playing with particians) so I installed a clean Mint 20.1.