Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Is it possible to AWK INXI?
how do you awk inxi. or is there another way to get the same result? reed on.

i am trying to get an output of something like this

Code:
Machine: TOSHIBA Satellite L16574 PSKXXX-XXXXXX

i have tried
Code:
inxi -M | awk '/^Machine:/ {print $2 " / " $3}'
but no output. and i have tried
Code:
inxi -M | awk '{print $6 " "$8}' | grep TOSHIBA

But this only works with Toshiba. Is there another way to get this info printed out like that. or am i just awking wrong?

i have never tried to awk inxi before so i don't even know if it can be done correctly.

any advise is appreciated thank you in advance.

EDIT
-------------------------------------------------------------------
I have mostly answered my own question. I played around with it until i came up with
Code:
inxi -M | awk '{print $5 " " $6 " "$8  " " $9 " " $11}' | grep System | awk '{print $2 " " $3 " "$4 " " $5 " " $6}'
this works, but is kinda silly. it awks a grep, and greps an awk. which is why i went ahead and posted anyway. I am still asking myself and everyone, is there a better way?

again, thanks.

and

kudos.
A computer without Microsoft is like a piece of chocolate cake without ketchup and mustard.

Telegram @eliasw4u
I tried it on various laptops and got mixed results. The fields were different on each because of spaces in model names, etc. Here's what I got with my Panasonic Toughbook runnng Lubunt 18.04:
[code]
$ inxi -M
Machine: Device: laptop System: Panasonic product: CF-T8EWDTZAM v: 001 serial: N/A
Mobo: Panasonic model: CFT8W-1 v: 1 serial: N/A BIOS: American Megatrends v: V1.50L13 date: 01/26/2009
$ inxi -M |awk '/Machine:/ {print $6 " / " $8}'
Panasonic / CF-T8EWDTZAM
[code]

You may need to look at the output of inxi without piping it to awk and then try different combinations of the fields you want to print. Hope this helps.
Rick Romig
"It's never wrong to introduce a child to Linux."
@ludditegeek
Rick's Tech Stuff
GitHub