Poll: 20.04 Hit or Miss?
You do not have permission to vote in this poll.
Hit
71.43%
5 71.43%
Miss
28.57%
2 28.57%
Total 7 vote(s) 100%
* You voted for this item. [Show Results]

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
20.04 Hit Or Miss?
I have been running Ubuntu 18.04 with Gnome for a while now, at least 9 months, maybe a year.

when I started playing with installers back in 2000 I tried Ubuntu. And stuck with it (Part-time) until 2010, where I went full-time Linux. I tried Arch around 2012. but it was to clunky for me at the time. So I went back to Ubuntu Unity. But in 2014 I tried the late great Antergos, and loved it. It was still Arch. but with style. A Lazy mans Arch if you will. Then in late 2014 I installed Arch vanilla on a secondary hard drive. And for the time, found my home. But after five years of having to update every day, I became tired of it and went back to Ubuntu. first I tried Kubuntu 18.04 and liked it. But it was VERY slow on the boot time. so I went back to Arch.

Eventually I tried Ubuntu Gnome 18.04 and surprisingly I liked it a lot! The point of all that is to show that I am familiar with Ubuntu, and even fond of it. anyway,
So as you can imagine, I was very exited that 20.04 was coming out. The day of its official release I downloaded it, and installed it. It was buggy, but I was okay with it because it was "Hot Off The Press".... And then installed gnome-tweaks,,, to find it only had two choices. That was a deal breaker for me. My work flow does not allow for the min/max/close buttons to be on the right side. I also used other options in the tweaks and I can not do without any of them, options that are no longer in 20.04 tweaks. There were many other little things that bugged me. But that was the straw...

very underwhelmed and saddened. But anyway,

I went back to 18.04. I will stay here until I find something better. I am VERY close to dropping to Debian Gnome.