Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
An observation
I have been active on here for eighteen months. In that time, it has seemed that half of the posts are by people having problems with Mint. (Probably not that many, but it seems like it.) I rarely see such a post about Ubuntu. I have used Ubuntu for fifteen years and have found it to be predictable and trouble free. It makes me wonder: what is it about Mint that has people choose it over Ubuntu?

Richard
I've been using Lnux Mint as my daily driver for several years and have had few problems with it. Most of those were dumb things that I did. I also have machines running LMDE, Debian, MX Linux, and Ubunutu. I've run into more problems with these other distributions largely becasuse I am not as familiar with them as I am with Mint. Mint does some things differently than Debian and Ubumtu so sometimes I see unexpected behavior.

I suspect that it may not be Mint that's the problem but the experience level in general of some of these Mint users, particularly those who are switching from Windows. That's just an idea I'm thowing out there based on my own experience and observations. Just my 2 cents.
Rick Romig
"It's never wrong to introduce a child to Linux."
@ludditegeek
Rick's Tech Stuff
GitHub
Methinks rickromig hit the nail on the head. A lot of former Windows users (including me) flocked to Linux when Win 7 approached, reached, or passed EOL rather than downgrade to Win 10. Mint is the distro most frequently recommended for Windows refugees so that is the one being adopted by the newbies the most. Inexperience with Linux by these users (again, including me) is probably the reason for the uptick in Mint problems.
Jeannie

One has to be proactive, not reactive, to ensure the safety of one's data so backup your data! And RAID is NOT a backup!