Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Installing a Canon printer
I am new to Linux and I don`t understand how I install a Canon mp495 printer or get the system to recognise that the printer is there and ready to print whatever i want.
Can anybody help please
Thank you
Peter Knowles Huh
Most modern printers with wifi should only need to be plugged into power and switched on. Then open Printers on your computer and Add Printer. Does that not work for you?
Cliff Coggin
Mint 18.3
(11-18-2019, 05:07 PM)cliffcoggin Wrote: Most modern printers with wifi should only need to be plugged into power and switched on. Then open Printers on your computer and Add Printer. Does that not work for you?

It wouldn't work for me since I do not use WiFi, preferring the speed and security of Ethernet.
Jeannie

One has to be proactive, not reactive, to ensure the safety of one's data so backup your data! And RAID is NOT a backup!
(11-18-2019, 06:46 PM)Lady Fitzgerald Wrote: It wouldn't work for me since I do not use WiFi, preferring the speed and security of Ethernet.

I thought you used clay tablets?   Wink
Idea  Give a man a fish, and you feed him for a day. Teach a man to fish, and you feed him for a lifetime.

(11-18-2019, 11:51 PM)deck_luck Wrote:
(11-18-2019, 06:46 PM)Lady Fitzgerald Wrote: It wouldn't work for me since I do not use WiFi, preferring the speed and security of Ethernet.

I thought you used clay tablets?   Wink

Nope. Stone tablets. Far more durable. Hey, they're solid state.
Jeannie

One has to be proactive, not reactive, to ensure the safety of one's data so backup your data! And RAID is NOT a backup!
hi there,
what cliff cogins meant is:
-plug and power up your printer
-on your compyter keyboard, press the super key. AKA windows key.
-use the search and type "printer"

as cliff mentioned after this every thing is self explanatory.
If you need a visual guide of what everyone is describing above...

From an old thread on printers: