Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Scripting question: how to use quotation marks inside a script
Hello!

I'm working on my custom backup script with rsync, and I have stumbled upon something that is not obvious for me (I'm quite new to bash, so forgive me if I'm wrong here).

Before doing the sync, I define the options and other things in variables:

Code:
OPTS="-aAXi"
EXCLUDE='--exclude={"/dev/*","/proc/*","/sys/*","/tmp/*","/run/*","/mnt/*","/media/*","/lost+found","/home/*"}'
SRC="/"
BCKP="/media/data/backup"
LINK="--link-dest=$BCKP/$LAST/"
When it is done, I try to invoke the command by
Code:
rsync $OPTS $EXCLUDE $LINK $SRC $BCKP/$NAME/ >> "$LOG"
Which interestingly doesn't respect my --exclude array. NB, I also print the command into a file with
Code:
echo "Running: rsync $OPTS $EXCLUDE $LINK $SRC $BCKP/$NAME/" >> "$LOG"
and in that case, the string that's written to the log file is a valid rsync command, which respects the exclude array (tried it and ran it).

My strong suspicion is that there's some trickery regarding the " quotation marks I am not familiar with, as if I change the variables to
Code:
SRC="\"/\""
to contained escaped quotation marks, the whole rsync command falls apart, and starts reporting missing directories, while the rsync command written to the log file with the quotation marks present, work properly.

Anyone more familiar with bash, could you please give me a resource where to look? Thanks.
I am discovering Arch Linux as a total Linux newbie, and try to share my experience. I've managed to produce a working bootable USB and got my main PC up and running!
(10-05-2019, 04:30 AM)TarsolyGer Wrote:
Code:
rsync $OPTS $EXCLUDE $LINK $SRC $BCKP/$NAME/ >> "$LOG"

The first thing I'd try it putting quotatin marks around the variables, like this:

Code:
rsync "$OPTS" "$EXCLUDE" "$LINK" "$SRC" "$BCKP/$NAME/" >> "$LOG"

Now you should be able to escape the quotation marks inside the variables.
My website - My git repos