Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Goodbye Debs, Hello Snaps
Canonical is about to take a step that many are going to find controversial. They want to stop providing .deb packages for Chromium in Ubuntu and instead make it only available in a Snap package. The transitional package is already in Ubuntu 19.10. Running 'sudo apt install chromium-browser' opens the snap installer and you'll get a snap package installed and not a .deb. The advantage for Canonical here is that they will no longer have to maintain .deb packages for all the supported versions of Ubuntu. Instead, they can have one snap that works on all. Plans are already in place to backport this to older supported Ubuntu versions... That would be OK if snaps didn't still have so many issues with themes and font rendering bugaboos. I avoid snaps because of them. Too much too soon if you ask me.. What do you think?

https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/call-for-...rom…/11179
-- Your Fearless Leader!

I'm a noob here, but I don't get it why would they need different .deb packages for different Ubuntu versions? Is it because of the different version of the dependencies?
If the snaps coming out for the newer versions of Chromium, and will always be packaged with the newest dependencies included in the snap package, then what's the point of an LTS release? If all the software moves towards the snap or flatpak or whatever solution with all the new dependencies packed in, why don't they just make a rolling distro, maybe a slowly rolling one just like Solus?

I'm kinda confused, so that's why my comment is confusing, too Smile

My knowledge about packaging comes from this article, which is basically a very strong stance for the distribution repository maintainers to package their software instead of letting 3rd party developers package their software 'universally', so I'm curious about other opinions.