Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
The Art World needs to embrace Linux!
I'm a professional artist and, essentially, if your aren't using Mac/Windows/Adobe it's very difficult, if not impossible, to get along in this industry. I honestly see Linux/FOSS as counter cultural/anti-corporate which is in line with the ethos of many artists I know but why can't this industry break out of its corporate shell when there is free software that, if not fully capable of replacing Adobe software, would be if more people joined the free software movement?
This is quite important. This is why we see Apple and Adobe in artistic courses in universities, and also why we see Microsoft products in the public schools.

[url=https://www.reddit.com/r/linux/comments/cu6mwb/the_art_world_needs_to_embrace_linux/][/url]
I've no doubt you are right, but you are preaching to the converted here.
Cliff Coggin
Mint 19.2 Cinnamon
(08-27-2019, 05:13 PM)boss992 Wrote: I'm a professional artist and, essentially, if your aren't using Mac/Windows/Adobe it's very difficult, if not impossible, to get along in this industry. I honestly see Linux/FOSS as counter cultural/anti-corporate which is in line with the ethos of many artists I know but why can't this industry break out of its corporate shell when there is free software that, if not fully capable of replacing Adobe software, would be if more people joined the free software movement?
This is quite important. This is why we see Apple and Adobe in artistic courses in universities, and also why we see Microsoft products in the public schools.

[url=https://www.reddit.com/r/linux/comments/cu6mwb/the_art_world_needs_to_embrace_linux/][/url]

Hi boss992,