Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Looking for cheat sheets
I am new to the world of Linux and I am trying to learn bash shell commands and how to create my own scripts to run. I was wondering if there is a cheat sheet out there that can tell me what the commands mean?

I am trying to learn this without having to bug people too much.

I am looking for something that can show me what the -e means in the command line
 echo -e "${RED}REBOOT REQUIRED!${NOCOLOR}"
You can use a search engine like bing or google to find a bash cheat sheet.   Which one is best is probably very subjective.

The "-e" echo option causes the echo command enables interpretation of backslash escapes.

Code:
$ echo "\n backslash n"
\n backslash n
$ echo -e "\n backslash n"

backslash n
$

Notice the echo -e example did not print the \n like the first example but instead, it interprets the "\n" by printing a new line.

Reference:

man echo 
man bash
Idea Give a person a fish, and you feed them for a day. Teach a person how to fish, and you feed them for a lifetime. ✝️ Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.  (Linux Mint 19 XFCE)
If you want an overview about a command and its options, try this:
Code:
man command  # displays the manual pages for 'command'
info command  # displays the GNU info page for 'command'

Here is a small cheat sheet for starting with the command line:
Code:
cd  # change directory, move to another "folder"
rm  # remove a file
rm -rf  # remove a directory
mv  # move a file or directory from one path to antoher, also used for renamng
cp  # copy a file from one path to another
cp -r  # copy a directory
cat  # concatenate files or streams to a single file or stream

Here are some examples:
Code:
echo "Hi" > test  # overwrite / create file 'test' with the word 'Hi' in it
cat test  # prints content of file 'test' to terminal
cat test > test2  # writes contents of file 'test' to file 'test2'