Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Milkdrop Music Visualiser - How to get Milkdrop/ProjectM running Under Ubuntu Easily?
Question 
Hello Smile 

I'm looking for some info on getting the popular music visualiser Milkdrop working on my Ubuntu Mate installation.

Milkdrop/ProjectM is a Music Visualiser. That is it changes the visualisations on screen with your music. Under windows, using Winamp. Milkdrop was just a quick install. Just drop the plugin into the plugins folder, restart and away you go. It was so popular that eventually it became packaged with winamp by default.

When I switched to Ubuntu, this was something I've really missed. It is ported to linux as ProjectM however as a complete newbie I am yet to be able to get it working, at all, or even find any up to date or working tutorials demonstrating in an easily understandable way on how to get it working with music players in Ubuntu. (The closest I found was with the music player Amarok with it's visualisation plugins, but that functionality seems to have inexplicably vanished Huh )

So, in short, I humbly request a genuinely newbie friendly guide to getting ProjectM (Milkdrop) running under Ubuntu. I have seen some on youtube and some text guides. But most are either out of date, or are simply not genuinely newbie friendly.

P.s. I'm also open to learning/sharing about other similar music visualisers if anyone knows good ones for linux. It's just that Milkdrop has been designed to be modular, and as such there are now thousands of visualisations that anyone can make, download and easily add. Which has of course expanded it's appeal a thousandfold.

Many, many thanks for any and all help mercifully offered. Here's a video example of Milkdrop/ProjectM doing what it does...

Milkdrop 2.0 Winamp Visualizations

Hello,
How are you trying to install ProjectM?

I went to there GitHub page and downloaded their latest Build source code from here!